DarkArchives_Cover

Megan Rosenbloom’s first book, Dark Archives: A Librarian’s Investigation into the Science and History of Books Bound in Human Skin publishes October 20, 2020. View the book trailer.

Skylight Books in Los Angeles is the only place you can pre-order signed copies (personalized if you wish).

Unsigned pre-orders are now available from: Bookshop, IndieBound, Amazon, and wherever books are sold. E-galleys are now available for review purposes on NetGalley or by writing chloe [dot] texier-rose [at] fsgbooks [dot] com.

For upcoming online book talks, see my events page.

A fascinating, terrifying look at the rarest books―bound in human skin―and the stories of their creation

There are books out there, some shelved unwittingly next to ordinary texts, that are bound in human skin. Would you know one if you held it in your hand?

In Dark Archives, Megan Rosenbloom, a librarian and a cofounder of the Death Salon, seeks out the historic and scientific truths behind anthropodermic bibliopegy. Dozens of these books still sit on the shelves of the world’s most famous libraries and museums. What are their stories? Dark Archives exhumes their origins and brings to life the doctors, murderers, women, and indigents whose lives are bound together in this rare, scattered, and disquieting collection. It also tells the story of the scientists, curators, and librarians like Rosenbloom – interested in the full complicated histories behind these dark artifacts of nineteenth-century medicine – are developing tests to discover these books and sorting through the ethics of custodianship.
A whip-smart and witty writer, Rosenbloom has crafted a narrative that is equal parts detective work, academic intrigue, history, and medical curiosity. Thrilling, captivating, and macabre in all the right ways, Dark Archives encourages us to take another look at the very serious ways in which the powerful have objectified people over time – perfect for fans of Mary Roach, Lindsey Fitzharris, and the art of collecting.

“Profoundly odd, wholly original, and utterly engrossing! If there were a Pulitzer for the category, ‘Who knew?,’ Ms. Rosenbloom’s Dark Archives would win it hands down.” ―Erik Larson, author of The Splendid and the Vile

Dark Archives is a gorgeous dive into the humanity and inhumanity of the people behind (and on) these strangely captivating books.  Propelled by curiosity and bibliophilia, Rosenbloom travels far and wide and deep within, taking us to unimaginable places.  This is a masterful work, enlightened and enlivened by Rosenbloom’s scholarship and her involvement with the death positive movement.  If there were a word for the perfect pairing of author and subject and the giddy joy that pairing brings to the reader, I’d be using it right now.” ―Mary Roach, author of Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers

“An international treasure hunt, fascinating medical history, high level PR nightmare, and heartrending account of the real people whose flesh was turned into curiosities by the medical professionals they trusted.” ―Caitlin Doughty, author of Will My Cat Eat My Eyeballs?: Big Questions About Death

“Megan Rosenbloom is the perfect guide to a dark and sinister world populated by Victorian criminals, bodysnatchers, and dissectors―all of whom contributed to the gruesome art of binding books with human skin. A splendid read for Halloween Eve!” ―Lindsey Fitzharris, author of The Butchering Art

“Essential for most libraries, especially where books about medical history & material culture circulate well.” Library Journal

“This unique and well-researched account shines an intriguing light on a hidden corner of the rare books world.” Publisher’s Weekly

“[An] intriguing intersection of history, science, and the macabre… Rosenbloom’s passion for the topic is infused in each page, making for a captivating read.”— ALA Booklist

MRpromophotoHiRes
Photo by Polly Antonia Barrowman